Why I am an Agnostic Atheist

I promised posts about religion and atheism, so here’s one!!

So, my answer to the question:  Does god exist?  I don’t know, but I haven’t seen any evidence which would prove the existence of god.

It’s quite simple.  In statistics and science, it is commonplace to formulate a null hypothesis and an alternative hypothesis for an experiment of an analysis.  The alternative hypothesis is the hypothesis you are trying to prove is true.  If you attain enough evidence which supports your alternative hypothesis, you can reject your null hypothesis and accept the alternative hypothesis as true.

In the case of the existence of a deity or deities, the burden of proof lies on the person claiming their existence.  In this case, “There is no god.” is the null hypothesis, and “There is a god.” is the alternative hypothesis.

In this case, I have not seen enough demonstrable evidence which supports the alternative hypothesis of “There is a god.”  Therefore, I must stick with the null hypothesis of “There is no god,” which explains the “atheist” part of “agnostic atheist.”

As for the “agnostic” part of “Agnostic Atheist,” I realize that there is a possibility that enough demonstrable evidence supporting the alternative hypothesis from above may surface.  Since I am open to that possibility, that ultimately leads me to the conclusion that I don’t know whether a deity exists or not.

In short, I am an agnostic atheist because I have not seen enough demonstrable evidence which points me towards its existence, but that evidence may be out there.

There are many (like Ray Comfort) who do not fully understand atheism.  Many, like Comfort, would like to believe that we know there is a god, but we are angry at it.  This does not make any sense.  If we do not believe that a god exists, how could we be mad at it?  It would be like me being mad at unicorns, even though unicorns do not exist.  That’s not how it works.  Atheism is the lack of belief in a deity, not anger at a deity.

I hope this serves as a formidable introduction to the topic.  Until next time, “If you won’t listen to reason, there’s always…Towanda.”

Leave a Reply

